Skip navigation


It’s over and done but Queen In Hyun’s Man Abby’s Man has left me insatiable.

This year you are my best drama yet so far…  ^_^  Your drive to bring your viewers to your spontaneous romance binge whilst holding the reign to an incessantly bewitching plot was quenchless and I thank kdramagod for that.

Joining the KDramaLand time pilgrimage cortege this year is Queen In Hyun’s Man Abby’s Man.  Making me forget the recently concluded dramas who were all beautiful and gorgeous was a feat so worthy of this fusion presentation that has oppugned the nitpicker side of me.   I love the unconventional as my excessively diverted self can normally hold on because it’s just important and not because it’s what I really wanted, but disarming me each and every episode with your deviant drama pulls and going maverick to what I was predicting had me grab my tarot card to check if my seer abilities need a refresher.

Let’s meet Kim Boong Do aka Abby’s Man, a quick-witted scholar trusted by King Suk-jong who was working on the reinstatement of the deposed Queen In-hyun in Joseon era.  His apparent goal has had him earned the ire of the opposing faction engaging him to life threatening dangers thrown by the evil perpetrators.  His big heart has obtained him loyal people and one of those faithfuls, Yoonwol, gave him a talisman for his protection.  In one of his life attempts, the talisman took him 300 years after to modern times and meet the perky TV actress, Choi Hee-jin playing the TV role of Queen In-hyun at present time. 

The time-trek causing talisman has a catch though it will permit its power only when the owner is in grave danger, and its loyalty can be swayed by either Boong-do to where the amulet was prayed for and given, Yoon-wol – whose yearning to protect and make her master achieve happiness had the talisman’s power binding, or to the head-monk who created the paper periapt and initiated its mojo.   Boong-do’s nimble self easily perceived the sort of magic he has acquired and used is at his advantage to resolve the Joseon circa conflicts alongside exploring the advancement of a different time and falling in love for the first time with He–jin.   With his keen mind, he was able to maximize the time and resolved the discordance in his era, but the same power he has with time will endanger his own personal bliss.

I was somewhere either reading or wide eyed sleeping when they showered sticking attention ability, and with so much watching done over the years, I rarely get to watch something that has bragged straight to my face on how exceptional it was… and that ladies and gentlemen was notched satisfyingly by Queen In Hyun’s Man Abby’s Man.

I just so love how it deviated from the typical KDrama conflict norms of unresolved unfinished love issues, family problems, useless vengeance driven characters, personal exhausting battles and all those other tiring fillings they would insert to make the spectators just go with the flow.  Apparently though, I ain’t gonna go with something unless it is worth clinging to.

I have this habit of focusing on camera movements when I’m watching something, in short I’m particular to editing, so given the time-voyaging premise of the story, I was amazed on how the production team worked on the smooth transitions.  It was playing at past and present ends without losing the spontaneity and fluidity of the story.  The writer whom I will be stalking from now on was a delightfully mischievous conceiver who got down to the nitty-gritty of the screenplay and pulling off the conflicts and its deliverance in a make-sense and you-got-me-there kind of vibe.  Quintessential writing, editing and directing.  period.

The love couple stood by each other side well.  They were so steadily moving and claiming their love with the right elements, right reasons and right intentions.  The era difference trouble having neatly done was conveyed sweetly sending me most of the time to the World’s Giddy-est Girl” moment.  Hee-jin corresponded to Boong-do’s character in a mischievous-kiss-note but even better.  I like that she’s all set to go for her happiness and the man she loves regardless of the mystical and time restraints surrounding them.  She knew it was a crazy love on the onset but because she understood that it happened for a reason, she went Jack Sparrow and bravely plunge.  Her candidness was complementing well with Boong-do’s serious and smart views in life providing us romantic moments that made me remember all those precious love memories I had in my life.  As for Kim Boong-do, he had me at being smart and for being a clueless player.  He made me forget about chaebols and funny guys.  He’s that man I’m hoping real life will be able to give me, well not necessarily the time travelling part though.  *wink  His cleverness and his character took the drama at an addictive level that even when I’m stuffed, I’m still subconsciously craving.  Considering that I was not that familiar with the main leads I have found myself deeply immersed in their time and talisman defying romance.


Queen In Hyun’s Man has managed to outwit me and convincingly swayed me with what story drive I imagined to be achieved… He was playfully smiling at me in a “and you thought you had me figured out abby” kind of way.  With the time travelling and fantasy parade in the KDramaLand, he has managed to surprise all the players with his neat time transitions enabling a consistent and enticingly appealing plot.  Rarely would you remember equally the story and the characters, but with Queen In Hyun’s Man, the characters synchronized well with the story and strangely the characters would be able to stand alone as the story retain its brilliance and vice versa.


It was a supernatural and reality love drama at its best and is a romance story that is so worth my time and even curing my recently running emotional-limbo-bound-self.   It definitely deserved a slot in my hall-of-famers.  Yes it did!

P.S  I love you Kim Boong-do.  I’m now off to get a talisman to claim you.  ^_^

 

Mr. D’s comments

Pass me the tissues please, i’ll admit it ok, i cried, not like screaming, b ut emotionally driven, uncontrollable tears, i found my self so emotionally involved by the time the story was coming to a close, that i just couldn’t control my self.

A very fresh and original drama, amazing, yet not too outlandish twists that seamlessly and caressed and altered the direction in which you thought the plot would take you.

our “hero” Kim Boong-do was a great character, as abby mentioned his intelligence played off superbly against the fact that he was in an abnormal situation in which even the simplest and most obvious things (by modern times standards) left him completely blank, Choi Hee-jins’ complete and utter faith that everything would work out and that somehow, some divine intervention would win through for her and her love (if he can get there out of nowhere, then surely there must be a way he can stay).

I’ll admit i was dubious about watching it after already watching Roof Top Prince, thought this would be a same style drama, with a slight twist, Abby, after questioning, told me i should watch it, so i listened the the words of my boss (and drama goddess) and was not disappointed.

Have to agree, currently sat at number 1 spot for 2012, closely followed by K2H

Mr Ð

8 Comments

  1. Watching this drama now, and I keep hearing about what different and great plot it has, but it’s still in the beginning stages where I’m at and so I haven’t really seen where the plot is going exactly yet.

    • yes dear it has a great plot! i assure you, you will be amazed.. the main character was able to connect to the story as the story brought out the best in the characters. happy watching!

  2. Pass me the tissues please, i’ll admit it ok, i cried, not like screaming, b ut emotionally driven, uncontrollable tears, i found my self so emotionally involved by the time the story was coming to a close, that i just couldn’t control my self.

    A very fresh and original drama, amazing, yet not too outlandish twists that seamlessly and caressed and altered the direction in which you thought the plot would take you.

    our “hero” Kim Boong-do was a great character, as abby mentioned his intelligence played off superbly against the fact that he was in an abnormal situation in which even the simplest and most obvious things (by modern times standards) left him completely blank, Choi Hee-jins’ complete and utter faith that everything would work out and that somehow, some divine intervention would win through for her and her love (if he can get there out of nowhere, then surely there must be a way he can stay).

    I’ll admit i was dubious about watching it after already watching Roof Top Prince, thought this would be a same style drama, with a slight twist, Abby, after questioning, told me i should watch it, so i listened the the words of my boss (and drama goddess) and was not disappointed.

    Have to agree, currently sat at number 1 spot for 2012, closely followed by K2H

    Mr Ð

    • u almost didn’t watch it? i hate you. *wink people may really like K2H, but Abby’s Man was really a runaway it. ^_^

      • i’m still in love with kim boong do.. i dunno if some future kdrama guy will take over.. ^_^

        • Mr Ð
        • Posted August 9, 2012 at 11:28 p08
        • Permalink

        nope, nearly didnt watch it, like i said, thought it was going to be allot like RTP, but very glad i watched it,
        ive been watching some japanese films and dramas over the last week, until i find something in k drama that inspires me enough to watch it, waiting for Arrang magistrate,
        Oh and by the way, ive found a good link for upcoming dramas/films, ive been on the site before, but never noticed the “upcoming” section

        http://www.hancinema.net/all_korean_dramas.php

  3. You’ve got competition, Abby. From Wikipedia-

    On June 7 after the last broadcast, the production held a special fan meeting to celebrate the ending of the drama. During the cast interviews, Ji Hyun-woo made a surprise public declaration that he was in love with co-star Yoo In-na, shocking fans and press alike.[12][13] This sparked a media frenzy in the following days,[14][15][16][17] during which their agencies remained mum on the issue and the two stars lay low,[18][19] except for a reassuring message to his fans that Ji posted on Twitter on June 11.[20][21] After gossip website Sportsseoul.com photographed the couple together on a midnight date at a park in Bundang, Gyeonggi, where Yoo lives,[22][23] Yoo confirmed their relationship on her radio show the next day, June 18. She said, “We decided that he will stop being In-hyun’s Man and instead, start being Yoo In-na’s Man.”[24][25]

    • Lol, I already moved on since jo in sung oppa starred in that winter the wind blows… *giggles


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,090 other followers

