Skip navigation


Might as well blog these K-Dramas who stayed with me when I’m sad, flirty, happy and in love…  Here’s a taste of feel-good Korean Romantic dramas, you might want to watch with your friends, partners,  and soon to be “future” person… ^_^ = my personal favorite

♥ Flower Boy Ramyun Shop (2011) – The light, feel-good and fast-paced vibe sent me wanting for more, and ended up being satisfied as each episode ends.  Without trying that much the characters grew on me and Cha Chi Soo tied with Dokko Jin this year for my favorite male leads.  One of the best for 2011, it swept me off my feet the way Prince Charming could have never done it to me.  Charming and full of romantic bliss plus an adorable Second Lead as an extra perk, you’re a descendant of Lord Voldemort if you fail to appreciate it.

♥ The Princess’ Man (2011)A period drama taking the Romeo and Juliet romance background.  With one of the vilest villain my eyes has set upon on television.  Nonetheless, for a not so sageuk fan like me it stirred emotions and glue-like substance to make me stay in touch with it and finishing it till the end.  Marvelously done music and editing and with richly personified characters, this is a drama worth of a red carpet recognition.  (10/10/10)

♥Scent of a Woman (2011) I won’t forget Yeon-jae and Ji-wook’s love story.  Theirs is full of passion, trust and commitment to love each other whatever the future holds.  To date this is my favorite Korean drama ever and Yeon-jae and Ji-wook’s lovestory will always be special in my heart.  A love tale that has made me cried big time, but still made me feel hopeful after the tears.  Scent of a Woman is so life and love affirming that it affected me in a way that it made me get so serious with making my own bucket list.  If a newbie will ask me what I can recommend for a first time watcher, without hesitation, I will certainly recommend this drama.


♥You’ve Fallen for me aka Heartstrings (2011) I would recommend this to anyone suffering extreme heartache to trigger their ability to love again.  This is refreshingly sweet and the kind of drama you’ll watch and never get tired of it..  Oozing with sweet moments and a lead actor who knew what buttons to tickle and make you filled of heart flutters.  A little lapses and a sort of rushed ending but Lee Shin made up for all those little things it was missing.


♥Myungwol the Spy (2011)The sort-of-chaos that happened during the airing of this drama didn’t stop me from being immersed on the characters and the funny, exciting. full of twist, and undeniably pretty story. I became interested with Eric because of his character here, and when I check on his other dramas, the man sure can act and is really hot. Since rom-com dramas are everywhere in the kimchidrama land, it’s hard to generate a love story of a man and a woman that you haven’t seen, heard or read before, true there may have been love stories about spies, but the crisp and outlandish of Myungwol took me by surprise, and I just love surprises.

♥City Hunter (2011) – I’m very fond of the lead couple after watching them in their respective Kdramas and I’ve loved them even more in this drama.  Very charming display of their characters. A story of revenge and realizing that there’s more to life than revenge.  It’s hard not to fall for this drama because it hit all the elements you can ask for.  Superb directing, scriptwriting and acting.  I could not ask for more.  ^_^

♥Best Love aka The Greatest Love (2011) – I was so in love with this drama when it was airing.  As always Hong sisters got me with their lead couple bickering-turned-to-loving.  It’s full of heart flutters and bliss.  A story of a striving-to-remain-in-the-Korean-showbizness woman and a top-Korean-actor.  It’s one of my favorites for 2011.  It might make you skip work if you watch it during work days so better watch it on a weekend.  It’s also the first time I fell in love to the second male lead almost at the same level as the first male lead.   I don’t know what kind of water Hong sisters drink for them to come up with really good love stories.  Dokko Jin entered my lead man Hall of Fame list and Pil-joo joined Geol-ah to my “really-they-deserved-the-girl” list.  This is something you will dream of when you sleep and a very good reason for you to bargain with time to speed up so that the day of its airing can happen.  Certified on Abby’s must-watch list. Full of ahhs and ohhs, this is one of the best rom-com dramas I’ve watched so far.  Consider you’re forewarned.

♥Baby Faced Beauty (2011) – it’s light, refreshing and full of hope and dreams.  The character development will slowly and surely capture you.  A story of a 34-year old woman who has to set aside her dream of being a designer to take the role of the breadwinner in the family.  She was given an opportunity to have her dream but she has to pretend she’s 9 years younger.  It may be slow moving but you will end up loving the story.

♥49 Days (2011)I found the premise intriguing as it involves fantasy intervention… it slowly picked up in my system but having a soft spot for I’m-here-for-you-all-along-why-can’t-you-notice-me kind of love, it won me over.  Neat and prettily written story with twists and gasps, and will be on my top 3 dramas for 2011.

♥Dream High (2011)Breezy, glee-like-maybe-even-better, and lead actors that will put you most of the time in the land of “i want to be with you”… I say this is a dark horse this year and the musical bearing sets it apart from the rest of the dramas this season.

♥My Princess (2011) – one of my favorite behind-bickering-they-love-each-other couple.  The only Song Seong Heon drama that I like.  Very appealing and enticing.  Kim Tae Hee proved she can do the light and classy… a must watch, eye-candy and worth recommending.  ^_^

♥ Secret Garden (2010) – Hyun Bin + Ha Ji Won = I’m a happy camper?  The drama woke up my inability of falling in love again with a fictional character Kim Joo Won.  Engaging and strong performance by the characters, amusing screenplay and a story that will linger and can work as a coping pill to boredom or heartbreak.  I had high expectations about this team up, and they did not fail me.  Sunny characters, a twist worth of de Maupassant, and an endearing-classic-my-mom-doesn’t-like-you-but-i-love-you love story.  Fresh and scintillating… worthy of being absent for a day… My top pick for 2010. ^_^

♥Queen of Reversals (2010) – Sweet and sent me to self-realizing for a day… Actually this drama got me because of Park Shi Hoo, didn’t read reviews about it which I normally do.  I’m just hopelessly in love with him so I just want to stare at his face even if I will not watch the story itself.  *giggles But I love how this drama turned out to be and there are lot of relationship ideas that were pointed out so prettily.  Hwang Tae Hee will be one of my favorite heroines. 


♥ City Hall (2009)I’ve watched this drama after I came across Dokko Jin, and the politics-based love story blew me away.  The closing scene was shot so perfectly I promised myself I will vow to be a single if I won’t get that kind of romantic scene for a wedding proposal.

♥ You’re Beautiful (2009) – Jang Geun Seok still lingers in my dreams because of this drama. Hong sisters have done a superb job crafting this drama.  One of the few dramas who killed me with so much anticipation. Great chemistry between our favorite K-band characters. After Jang geun Seok swept me off my feet here I hunted all his Korean movies and watched it. Amazingly sweet and with lots of love vibes. Fast paced, beautifully crafted, sweet moments at it’s best. ^_^

♥ My GF is a Gumiho (2010)Being a self-confessed fan of the Hong sisters, I really enjoyed the supernatural-mythical-romantic elements in this drama.  One of the most remembered couple I guess in the Kdramaland. I was already a Sin Min Ah fan even before and her light and natural take on her character made me love her even more.  Beautiful, never a dull moment and will always be on anyone’s top favorites. Incorporating folklore and romance on its best… nicely done, great acting, witty screen play, and definitely on my top 3 K-Drama of 2010. ^_^

♥Sungkyunkwan Scandal (2010)Bromance incorporating a touch of traditional Korean history and way of living made the series riveting… such charming characters and will leave butterflies in your tummy.   The person you will love after your first love is like Sungkyunkwan for me.  I can’t help but love this drama each episode I was watching.  It was so addictive and full of love, and I was even surprised to have felt that way considering that it was a fusion-sageuk drama.  Having F4 like drama aired in the past few years, I say SKKS in its own right deserved so much applause.  Our F4 scholars made me so in love for a while and even now I still am in love with Geol Ah.  Definitely this has a spot on top Korean dramas on Abby-land.

♥ Personal Preference (2010) – Starred by my favorite actress and another one-sided love of mine, I could not ask for more. *giggles There were lots of bright tones here which I can say compensated to some dry moments and knots that were loosely conspicuous in a kdrama addict’s eye. The doting scenes melted me and made me craved for more so some scenes that are really unnecessary were left forgotten.  Your typical I’m-here-to-protect-you-love-story but with a twist.  ^_^

♥ Prosecutor Princess (2010) – Surprisingly sweet, comforting and a lead actor to drool and you can use as a calming pill.  More than safe storyline and will get you hooked when you least expected it.  Intricately woven narrative with great lines and superbly layered sequence build up plus effectively personified characters made me swoon over this drama. The “confrontation-kiss-scene” brought me to the edge of ever after and had me promised myself I will vow to be a single if it’s not Park Shi Hoo that I’m gonna marry with.. *giggles This is alluring and classic, a great watch and will live up to your expectation.

♥ Mischievous/Playful Kiss (2010) – I’ve seen how Japan and Taiwanese’ did their live adaptation so there’s always the comparison, I still prefer Taiwan’s version though, but this is quirky, lovely and you’ll have so many ways to love it.

♥ Iris (2009) – Since it was big budgeted and composed of top stars in Korea, it should definitely be worth watching… riveting, fast paced and top notch… But I’ve watched lots of spy dramas so it didn’t at all affect me.

♥ Boys Before Flowers (2009) – When it was aired in Korea, it was like the anticipation of Harry Potter book 7 for me, I’m so excited of Wednesdays because I get to watch it. Teen romance bliss at it’s best. ^_^

♥ Beethoven Virus (2009) – Great acting, scriptwriting and directing… It will slowly creep its way to you, and without you realizing it you are deeply immersed in each character’s life.

♥Coffee Prince (2007)Coffee Prince cemented my growing fondness towards Yoon Eun Hye.  *giggles  I liked her in Goong, and I like her even more here.  The music was so refreshing.  How the love grew between the lead characters was simply laid and yet so affecting and definitive.  If you are currently having a bitter heart because of a failed relationship it can surely disarm you and walk you through appreciating love again.  Addictive and will make you believe in love if you are unable to do so… ^_^

♥ Shining Inheritance (2010) –  I rarely watch mellow drama but there was something engaging in this modern-day-Cinderella-meets-spoiled-prince-romantic-interlude.  Seeing Han Hyo Joo in a different light was a surprise because I was not happy when I first saw her in Spring Waltz.  If not for the brilliant portrayal of the villain step mom here and how Eun-sung struggled and defeated the odds, the story will really not go beyond plain to interesting.  It took a while for me to fall in love, but I did eventually. A love story that builds up nicely.

♥ Love story in Harvard – Kim Rae Won is an actor that can easily sink in to any character he takes, and until now he still amuses me how he does that.  He’s so feel good and engaging to look at, and he effectively displayed that in LSIH.  There are a lot of heart-fluttering scenes which KRW nailed superbly.  I’m a sucker for finding-a-lost-love-and-realizing-the-love-is-still-there-drama so regardless of minimal inconsistencies and out of the context scenes, the fluidity and realistic appeal of the romantic elements were enough for me to put this on my favorite list.

♥ Goong (Princess Hours) – Growing love was really sweet in this drama and would make you remember your first love.   Great Music, great lines.  The build up of love is heart felt and lingering.  ^_^

♥ A Love To Kill – Classic directing and editing, decent conflict didn’t make the drama so dragging. Rain at his best.  ^_^

♥ Full House – Light and carefree. Cute couple fights and the famous 3 bear song made me smile a lot while watching it.  The sweet and simple storyline made tit a runaway hit.  ^_^

♥ Autumn Tale –  A very sad moving love story.  If serendipity has a twin evil brother, it was lurking the whole time in the story..  A few sweet moments, and a drama that is anti-ever-after.   The twist and simplicity of the story was very heartwarming. Heart-tugging storyline and will definitely linger in your heart.A lot of people cried over this KDrama. The twist and simplicity of the story was very heartwarming. Heart-tugging storyline and will definitely linger in your heart.

♥ What happened in Bali –  This is my favorite drama ending. There are only a few kdramas with decent endings, and if I’m strange because I love the ending of the ill-fated love triangle that this love interlude presented, I don’t care! *giggles At least they have provided a closure and a very strong closure for that matter.  Realistic and smokin’ hot.   Stirring and stimulating. Not a happily ever after drama, but definitely high grade scriptwriting and directing. Realistic and sensational. ^_^

♥ Love Marriage –   I was kinda hesitant when I first took my DVD copy of this drama to watch.  When I look at the lead couple it felt like they were not in sync physically.  There’s nothing spectacular about the story itself and is very laid back, and that’s maybe the reason why I fell for it.   Snappy scriptwriting, spirited lead actors and adorable love story.

♥ 1% of anything – A lovestory between a sweet middle school teacher and a hot tempered rich man. Fun, refreshing and one of the reason why Kang Dong Won is in my Korean Prince list.  ^_^

♥ Which Star did you come from – Poignant twist in the story can go either way depending on how you would want to take it. Neat storyline, but sometimes slow moving.  Light, eye-pleasing and another Kim Rae Won hit for me.

♥ Delightful Girl Chun Hyang – perky and bubbly… with lots of zest and romance…  Watched it after My Girl, and this sent me stalking Hong sisters from then on.

♥ Hanoi Bride – Lee Dong Wook is my favorite actor that’s why I watched it… quick, typical love story, somewhat great acting….

♥ Hello Miss – slow, sometimes entertaining, the only good thing here is Lee Dae Hee.

♥ La Dolce Vita – mature, splendid and realistic… marvelous acting and storyline…  If you have been induced by light rom-com dramas full of raining rose petals and couple bickering, this will be something new for your taste.

♥ My Lovely Samsoon –  I really think Hyun Bin was given by Heavenly Father to me, and until now I still have that illusion. *giggles He’s that actor whose gaze can make me so mesmerize and drool of what it feels like to be with him, in short I was meant for him, and it’s a one side love. Sam Soon is an addictive drama, subconsciously and in the real world. The writing and the weight of the story was justified by the endearing couple. It something which will nudge you of what you have experienced at some point sometime in your relationship.  Upbeat, mesmerizing, engaging and one of my favorites.  ^_^

♥ Fireworks – dreary storyline elevation… the only good thing to watch is the lead actor… tolerable and forgettable…

♥ Witch Yoo Hee – This was where I first noticed Jae Hee and his smooth smile. I have funny and sweet moments with this drama, but it’s just all that I guess. It was sort of more than an inch safe. Had it add more inflections and deleted unnnecessary scenes it would have been nicer.  Sometimes scattered and sometimes amusing.

♥ Stained Glass – typical, can be stirring at some point… sometimes spiritless… In between mediocre and above expectation I guess… Strikingly cute but not enough to make you remember it.

♥ Last Scandal – nice storyline, superb acting and chemistry between the lead actors, edifying and passionate.

♥ Save the Last Dance For MeA beautiful moving story of finding love and falling in love all over again to the same person.  It is my favorite Eugene drama.  At some point it was slow moving but it essentially helped the narrative of the drama.  This is like a love story taken out of your favorite harlequin novel but with a more pronounced lingering effect.  Deeply moving… fascinating characters… spell binding story…

5 Comments

  1. i rili luv kroean dramas i rili wich to watch dem all

  2. hi! just rescently i became a korean drama/lovestory addict as well. try watchinga gentlemans dignity…. cute love story.. also BIG THING…

    • Welcome aboard marie… i hope my drama list will help you pick which drama to watch… take care!

  3. Hi, if you already watched What happened in Bali, you will also love I’m sorry, I love you! You will cry a bucket of tears here, I swear!❤ Ji sub oppa is the best.

  4. I love your Blog, it’s nice when you can tell somebody actuallly puts effort into a blog, and gives the blogs value.


Leave a Reply

