Skip navigation


The OC-me-with-a-sort-of-eidetic-memory resulted in creating the list for my favorite dramas aired in 2010.  I know this is more than 365 days late but still I want to share it.  ^_^

P.S  Again, I’m more into romance genre so don’t ask if a critically acclaimed drama was not on my list.  ^_^

♥ Stars Falling From the Sky (Jan-Mar)I was clueless of who the lead couples were when I watched this drama and with no pre-conceived feelings with the actors and still liking it very much, that says a lot about how good this love yarn was.  I like strong heroines and I like them even more when they show their vulnerability and make adjustments to their liabilities.  A woman was forced to leave her usual girly and well-off life when her parents died.  She was left taking care of her color-coded siblings.  The instant family set-up and the love you have tried to give up but you ended up falling even more made me so fond of this drama.

♥ Prosecutor Princess (Mar-May) – Intricately woven narrative with great lines and superbly layered sequence build up plus effectively personified characters made me swoon over this drama. The “confrontation-kiss-scene” brought me to the edge of ever after and had me promised myself I will vow to be a single if it’s not Park Shi Hoo that I’m gonna marry with.. *giggles  Although I had some issues with the lead girl (partly because of jealousy), she has nailed the important scenes so that was good enough for me.  This is alluring and classic, a great watch and will live up to your expectation.

♥ Personal Preference (Mar – May) – It was a witty and sort of safe encore for Lee Min Ho to pick this drama because he was able to escape his Gu Jun Pyo character.  I mean when you hit stardom, viewers have tendencies to lean on the character they want you to be playing more than the character the actor wants to act on.  So I can say his choice to star in this romcom was a wise move and instead of focusing the attention to him, he and Son Ye-jin equally shared the glory playing yin and yang to this beautiful romance.  I have seen a lot of Ye-jin unni’s performance, this was not my favorite but regardless I like how she would challenge herself to deviate from the characters she portrayed before, like if someone will ask me where she was good at, it will take me a while to answer it.  Starred by my favorite actress and another one-sided love of mine, I could not ask for more. *giggles There were lots of bright tones here which I can say compensated to some dry moments and knots that were loosely conspicuous in a kdrama addict’s eye. The doting scenes melted me and made me craved for more so some scenes that are really unnecessary were left forgotten.

Sungkyunkwan Scandal (Aug – Nov) – I’m not a fan of sageuk drama and girl-pretending-a-boy-because-of-an-urgent reason is not something new for me, but I was blown away by the progress of the story and the build up of the romance in this love drama.  This is also the first time I equally like the first lead man and the second lead man.  (who wouldn’t fall for Geol Ah? *sigh).  The person you will love after your first love is like Sungkyunkwan for me.  I can’t help but love this drama each episode I was watching.  It was so addictive and full of love, and I was even surprised to have felt that way considering that it was a fusion-sageuk drama.  Having F4 like drama aired in the past few years, I say SKKS in its own right deserved so much applause.   Definitely this has a spot on top Korean dramas on Abby-land.

 

This is the perkiest period drama I’ve seen so far, if I may add it’s also the most romantic.  Considering the setting was in traditional times, they were able to execute love melting and love sighing scenes.

 

Kim Yoon Hee has assumed her sick brother’s identity and has been working as a scribe in a book store.  When financial constraint hit their family, she temporarily choked her personal convictions, and agreed to sit on the entrance exam on behalf of an aspiring Sungkyunkwan student, but another aspiring upright Sungkyunkwan scholar learned of her intentions and moved by her interesting character, he managed to have her entered the school. 

 

Under the disguise of a man, she ventured in a university populated by male and soon weaved a close friendship with intelligent Lee Sun Joon, debonair Goo Yong Ha and defiant Moon Jae Shin.  The exploits of this quartet will make you crave for more of them while they play on your TV screen.

 

This is also where your second male lead is equally as charming as your main lead, well in my case I liked Jae Shin more, and since his portrayal there, I became his stalker.   The romantic scenes laid were all heart blowing and amazingly done considering its sageuk premise.

 

Queen of Reversals (Oct 2010- Feb 2011) – Sweet and sent me to self-realizing for a day… Actually this drama got me because of Park Shi Hoo, didn’t read reviews about it which I normally do.  I’m just hopelessly in love with him so I just want to stare at his face even if I will not watch the story itself.  *giggles But I love how this drama turned out to be and there are lot of relationship ideas that were pointed out so prettily. 

 

My general perception on Hwang Tae Hee’s story is that of a woman forced to find her happiness, eventually getting it, but realizing that it was not the bliss she was supposed to have.  Her overcoming of setbacks and her guts to prove her worth is what you really call a success story, no big fortune presented, just achieving what she deserved and what she worked hard for.

 

Hwang Tae Hee worked as a distant team leader in an ad agency.  She met Bong Joon Soo in the same company and married him, but her main rival worked her way to strain their marriage.  She was forced to leave the company when her fate was manipulated by the Ad director, but after a few years, she was able to join the company again.  Just as her marriage was on the rocks and her career was in deep struggle, Goo Yong Shik, the chaebol son of the company she’s working with came in her life, and stood as her invisible butterfly wings.

 

Ain’t this woman so lucky?  She got another second chance in love, and that second chance was 10 times better than her former love. 

 

Hwang Tae Hee will be one of my favorite heroines.   It’s quite long so no chance that I stalked it online.  There were minimal lapses maybe because of the stretch of the story.  When I looked back I think it would have been better if it was not too long because the story itself was simply laid so extending it and adding unnecessary arc was safe but not really helping the story.  At any rate though, it was a worth gaping narrative. 

 

♥ My GF is a Gumiho (Aug – Oct) – Being a self-confessed fan of the Hong sisters, I really enjoyed the supernatural-mythical-romantic elements in this drama.  One of the most remembered couple I guess in the Kdramaland. I was already a Sin Min Ah fan even before and her light and natural take on her character made me love her even more.  Beautiful, never a dull moment and will always be on anyone’s top favorites. 

♥ Secret Garden (Nov 2010 – Jan 2011)  – Hyun Bin + Ha Ji Won = I’m a happy camper?  The drama woke up my inability of falling in love again with a fictional character Kim Joo Won.  Engaging and strong performance by the characters, amusing screenplay and a story that will linger and can work as a coping pill to boredom or heartbreak.  I had high expectations about this team up, and they did not fail me.  Sunny characters, a twist worth of de Maupassant, and an endearing-classic-my-mom-doesn’t-like-you-but-i-love-you love story.  Fresh and scintillating… worthy of being absent for a day… My top pick for 2010.

Leave a Reply

