Skip navigation


This is one of those dramas that I watched a few times in a year for my own traditional purposes and if I’m under major emotional stress, typically another failed relationship or when  my favorite basketball team didn’t get the championship again.  I’m baby-sitting my 4 nieces and a nephew the past 3 days so I’m going to add another reason which is “extreme physical stress”.  *wink The girls are watching Princess’ Hours with me, and so far they are liking it and teasing them on the sweet scenes is making me grin.

Crown Prince Lee Shin and Crown Princess Chae-gyung’s love story is the typical I-was-not-meaning-to-fall-for-you-but-I-fell-anyway romance.  You will love how the marriage for convenience and ancestor’s promise to marry their future descendants paved the way to one of Korean dramas endeared me beyond happiness.

The first episodes introduced us to the characters and prepared us to switch and familiarize ourselves between modern times and palace life.  Chae-gyung is your usual high school girl and her fate changes when due to financial problems she succumbed to a marriage to Korea’s modern time Crown Prince to save her family.  Lee Shin who was rejected when he proposed to his girlfriend Min Hyo-rin agreed to the marriage talk which originated from his late grandfather’s wish to marry his descendant to the descendant of a palace worker who saved his life and who turned out to be Chae-gyung’s grandfather.  On their wedding day, Hyo-rin was trying to reach her ballerina dream, changed her intention and realized too late that she wanted Lee Shin more than anything in her life.   

Chae-gyung entered the Palace and proceeded with her princess training while she often bickers with Lee Shin.  Eventually though and without realizing it, she soon found herself falling in love with him, which she tried to restrict because she knew he liked Hyo-rin.  The second male lead completing the love quadrangle is Prince Yul, who was Prince Shin’s cousin, and who will eventually grew fond of the princess.

The main conflicts I say would be the difficulty of admitting how the lead couples felt for each other and of course the quest for who deserves the throne, although the latter I think paved the way to make them closer. 

What I loved here is I saw how the loved progressed from nothing at all to “I want you to be always beside me” kind of adoration.  They matured as the romance grew, and they grew as the romance matured.  The heart-felt lines were superbly delivered and left me feeling the pain and the bliss at that moment.

There were a few lag time and scenes that were not really necessary and were just there to fill up the minutes, but like a package, it’s so pretty outside, you have to take time to unwrap it and feel happy at what a beautiful gift it was.  It’s the same thing with Goong, it slowly moves but then it will leave you breathless.

It deserves a spot on your bucket list and I’m sure it will be one of your favorites.  ^_^

2 Comments

  1. i miss this!

    • Jenny, they miss you too… go back to the kdramaland… go back to the kdramaland… go back to the kdramaland… *giggles


Leave a Reply

