Skip navigation


Last year, I started on looking back and giving my hard-earned thank you’s for these dramas and characters I really liked.  I never thought of a name, just your regular, year-end awards something, and then since my world wide web name calls for it, I guess I would have to acquiesce.  This will be my First Pink Lightsaber year-end appreciation day.  Let’s roll in my 2012 DRAMA FAVORITES.

PS:  My Basis for Choosing… Well, let’s just say if I will be asked about these dramas in 2 or 5 years, I will still remember everything about them.

mycollage (9)

♥  HISTORY OF THE SALARYMAN – I watched Yoo Bang and Yeo Chi just as I was running out of time this year, and the splendid story and cheeky characters has earned an applaud from me.  This is the most DARING and the SNAPPIEST Drama this year.

U0e3L

♥ OPERATION PROPOSAL – No matter how many times Baek Ho made me joined him in his “renovatio spree”, I remained faithful and intertwined in this I-realized-too-late-I-love-you-please-give-me-a-chance-to-prove-we-are-meant-to-be-kind-of-love.  This is the most TIME-DEFYING Romance Drama this year for me.

operation-proposal-3

♥  A GENTLEMAN”S DIGNITY – This blow-up F4 swept me off my feet with their unmatched friendship and opening anecdotes.  The wit, humor and love maturity was ever present until its culmination.  This is the Most FULFILLING Romance Drama and the Best Ensemble Cast this year.

gentlemans dignity poster

♥ GHOST – Riveting and Stimulating, GHOST was able to put me on an addictive level while stalking it.  This is the Most THRILLING and SMARTLY WRITTEN drama this year.

photo238551

♥ FAITH – Although slowly-paced the lingering effect of the romance, the villains and the story itself won my heart in a slow but surely and no looking back manner.  This is the Most HEARTFELT ROMANCE drama this year.

faith-korean-drama1

♥  QUEEN IN HYUN’S MAN – Drawing a well-pieced plot and nailing the best time-traveling trick from the time voyaging drama pack this year, Queen In Hyun’s Man Abby’s Man was an exceptional love yarn that made me giddy-ish, girly-ish and princess-ish.  This is the Most MEMORABLE and SUPERBLY WRITTEN Romance this year.

yakamar.com-04a70d9879

♥ FIVE FINGERS – I felt like I was in a trance while my usual romantic self enjoyed my favorite dysfunctional family ever. Five Fingers has managed to surprise me with the retaliation battle among the characters.  This is the Most FEISTY drama and the Most WELL-ACTED Drama this year.

photo253463

♥  ANSWER ME, 1997 – Nostalgic and a sure humor pill, Answer Me, 1997 sent me back to memory lane reliving the sweet feel of falling in love for the first time.  This is the Most CHEERFUL Romance Drama this year.

reply-1997-1

♥  KING 2 HEARTS – The situation that brought Hang Ah and her Prince took a “now or never approach” and elevated to a strong commitment because of the efficiency of the villain.  This is the Most POLISHED Drama this year.

the-king-2hearts-wallpaper-1

♥ ROOFTOP PRINCE – Addictive and very pleasant to watch, my Joseon Beatles replica made me root for them throughout the story.  Park Ha, Prince Lee Gak and the 3 Adorable sidekicks have given me so many laughter and induced plenty of love sighs.  This is the Most REFRESHING Romance Drama this year.

rooftop-prince-korean-drama-1

♥ THE MOON THAT EMBRACES THE SUN – It was a bracing romance that played and won over fate.  It was not that perfect but was very persistent in what it was trying to achieve.  This is the Most FATED and FULFILLING Romance this year.

the-moon-that-embraces-the-sun

♥ GAKSITAL – A bromance defying all bromance invented… Gaksital stripped me of my feminine lines and has made me at the end of my seat because of its thrilling pace, engrossing mise-en-scene and resonating characters.  This is the BEST WRITTEN and DIRECTED drama this year.

1C4Aa

And Now Here’s to the Winners of Pink Lightsaber

mycollage (10)

FAVORITE SUPPORTING MALE ACTORS

Eun Shi-kyung in King 2 Hearts

The King 2 Hearts-Eun Shi Kyung (14)

Jo Eun Sung in I do, I do

ido-park-gun-hyung-gynecologist

FAVORITE FEMALE SUPPORTING ACTRESSES

Kim Dong Ah in Wild Romance

real03_11

Im Me Ah Ri in A Gentleman’s Dignity

GD18-00064

BEST SCENE-STEALER CHARACTERS

The Three Musketeers of Prince Lee Gak in Rooftop Prince

Rooftop-Prince-15

HALL-OF-FAMER-CHARACTERS

Kim Bong Gu in King 2 Hearts

bong-gu-cries

Chae Young Ra in Five Fingers

ff16avi_003018585_zps54b5eb63

FAVORITE KICK-ASS CHARACTERS

Kim Woo Hyun in Ghost

Ghost_09-00001

Baek Yeo Chi in History of the Salaryman

hots7-00077

FAVORITE FEEL-GOOD CHARACTER

Arang in Arang and the Magistrate

Screen-Shot-2012-07-30-at-7.13.25-PM

Kang San in May Queen

BRmnr

FAVORITE BLUSH-INDUCING CHARACTER

Jung Jae Hyuk in Fashion King

picture14

Lee Ja Ha in King 2 Hearts

king-2-hearts-lee-jae-ha

FAVORITE CUDDLY BEAR CHARACTER

Park Moo Yul in Wild Romance

4

FAVORITE LOVE-YOU-HATE-YOU CHARACTER

Kim Kyung Tak in Dr. Jin

22

Yoo In Ha in Five Fingers

60143051

Shunji Kimura in Gaksital

fullsizephoto254756

FAVORITE LEAD MAN KISSER

Seo Joon in Love Rain

seojoonhana1

Kim Boong Do in Queen In Hyun’s Man

bscap0142

FAVORITE I-WANT-TO-SEE-YOU-IN-MY-DREAMS-CHARACTER

Choi Young in Faith

vlcsnap-2012-12-02-19h02m23s123

BEST FIGHT SCENES

Gaksital

bridalmask3

FAVORITE BROMANCE

Shunji and Kang-to in Bridal Mask

bridal-mask-2

F4 in A Gentleman’s Dignity

Jiro-Dennis-Tristan-and-Ron-of-A-Gentlemans-Dignity

Kenji and Kang-to in Gaksital

FAVORITE ROM-COM COUPLES

Park Ha and Lee Gak in Rooftop Prince

Rooftop Prince.E20.avi_003742676

Sung Shi Won and Yoon Yoon Jae in Answer Me, 1997

be5cff39

FAVORITE UNYIELDING ROMANCE

Kang Baek Ho to Ham Yi Seul in Operation Proposal

jR15Cz74

Choi Young and Yoo Eun Soo in Faith

faith19-00114a

FAVORITE PICTURE PERFECT ROMANCE

So Yi Soo and Kim Do Jin in A Gentleman’s Dignity

A-gentleman-s-dignity-korean-dramas-31745471-1024-768

Choi Hee Jin and Kim Boong Do in Queen In Hyun’s Man

Queen-In-Hyun-s-Man-korean-dramas-32442466-1920-1080 (1)

FAVORITE VILLAINS

Jo Hyun Min in Ghost

bscap0179

Ki Chul in Faith

YooOhSungasKiChulEP11-02

FAVORITE STORY

Queen In Hyun’s Man

yakamar.com-04a70d9879

FAVORITE SCREENPLAY

A Gentleman’s Dignity

a-gentlemans-dignity-poster

BEST EDITING

King 2 Hearts

the-king-2hearts-wallpaper-1

FAVORITE ENSEMBLE CAST

A Gentleman’s Dignity

a-gentleman-dignity2

Five Fingers

tumblr_m7lp0q7ccv1r4qgs3o3_1280

BEST IN CINEMATOGRAPHY

Love Rain

love-rain-03

BEST DIRECTING

Queen In Hyun’s Man

424px-QueenInhyunsMan

King 2 Hearts

the-king-2hearts-wallpaper-1

FAVORITE DRAMA

Queen In Hyun’s Man

424px-QueenInhyunsMan

Gaksital

1C4Aa

FAVORITE CHOCOLATEY-SWEET DRAMA

A Gentleman’s Dignity

a-gentlemans-dignity-poster

FAVORITE TEARS-AND-BLISS DRAMA

Five Fingers

Five-Fingers-06

FAVORITE PERIOD DRAMA

Faith

faith-korean-drama1

FAVORITE TIME TRAVELING DRAMA

Queen In Hyun’s Man

424px-QueenInhyunsMan

Operation Proposal

operation-proposal-3

FAVORITE TEAR INDUCING CHARACTER

Yoo Ji Ho in Five Fingers

ff18avi_004022989_zpsa4d15abf

Eun Shi Kyung in King 2 Hearts

The King 2 Hearts-Eun Shi Kyung (14)

FAVORITE SEE-HOW-MUCH-I-LOVE-YOU-SCENE

The Skin-care Gifts to Hang Ah in King 2 Hearts

h2018

The Beach Painting Gift to Park Ha in Rooftop Prince

rooftop_prince_ep12_kiss_small_214

FAVORITE COTTON-CANDY DARLING SCENE

Lee Tae Sung painting Go So Ra’s finger nails in Haeundae Lovers

fw43ry91

FAVORITE DRAMA ONE LINER

“I’ve never felt this way before” in Haeundae Lovers

haeundae2

BEST KISS

Love Rain Fountain Kiss

yoona-love-rain-kiss

Queen In Hyun’s Man Neck-tie-tip-toe Kiss

lg79fh58

BEST LOVE DECLARATION SCENE

Jo Eun Sung stethoscope Will you marry me? scene in I Do I Do

IDID04-00018

Ki-Joong and Dong-Bi’s Common Law Marriage Scene in Can We Get Married

Can We Get Married Han Groo Kim Young Kwang

BEST FINALE EPISODE

King 2 Hearts

the-king-2hearts-wallpaper-1

Ghost

photo238551

FAVORITE LEAD ACTRESS

Kim Hang Ah in King 2 Hearts

ha ji won

Chun Hae Joo in May Queen

20121216_1355667056_80165500_1

FAVORITE LEAD ACTOR

Kang Ma Ru in Innocent Man

nice-guy-screen-shot-2012-08-29-at-8-33-54-pm

Lee Kang To in Gaksital

a01a1_Bridal-Mask-01

FAVORITE DRAMA CHARACTERS

General Choi Young in Faith

vlcsnap-2012-12-02-19h02m23s123

Kim Boong Do in Queen In Hyun’s Man

bscap0142

Sung Shi Won in Answer Me, 1997

Reply 1997 (5)

It was so hard deciding on what I should pick, but I will stick to my simple rating rule.  My final stop for this year-end review, I’m hoping to accomplish before the year literally say goodbye.  

mycollage

8 Comments

  1. I really trust your judgment and taste. I watched Reply 1997 because of your review and I loved it. I have hesitations about Joo Ji Hoon’s comeback in Five Fingers but I think I’m going to take a peek because of your quick review. Please keep it coming! =)

    • hi dear, i’m glad you liked Reply 1997… I’m trying to finish the 3 remaining dramas for 2012 I haven’t finished… hopefully I will be done before Chinese New Year… Happy New year to you… Five Fingers was really nice and paced fast… less the last minute birth secret pull it would have beaten May Queen for melodramas last year. Happy Watching!

  2. Im biased especially if its Lee Min Ho. I wish im Eun Soo and im Gen Choi Young’s great love. I so love Faith that i cant get over with it. I would love to live in that era as long as im with him. FAITH is my number 1. I also love their romantic scences. Simple yet sweet. No kiss needed to show what they really feel..

  3. I watched queen in hyun’s man cuz of your review and I’m forever grateful!!! Love the show so much that I rewatched it! N I NEVER rewatched any show! Pure awesomeness!!

    • hi neomu,

      i’m sorry for the late reply… thank you for the warm response… i’m hoping i’ll get to have the copy of werewolf boy and love 911 soon… but this friday i will be adding 30 movies on my list… i have halted to my full movie recap because of the kdrama parade last year… you see working is making my blog life suffer… i should stop working… *giggles… Happy New year to you! -jediprincess

  4. And the Pink Umbrella goes to…

    Jediprincess!!! The man with the pink umbrella’s favourite kick-ass kdrama reviewer.

  5. WOW you have been busy noona, i agree with most, appart from the one in my dreams selection =) also i didnt know kang ma ru was an actress =)

    “FAVORITE LEAD ACTRESS”

    Kim Hang Ah in King 2 Hearts
    &
    Kang Ma Ru in Innocent Man
    think you need to put a header for favorite lead actor in there

    xoxox

    Mr Ð

    • I’ll check d kang ma ru section later I gave him the favorite actor..

      beaming, abby jediprincess.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

