Skip navigation


fault in our stars

I rarely pick sob stories to encounter, mainly because my tears are dysfunctional, I cry easily. Picking up the premise of this novel, I was surprised at how I got so connected with the characters, there’s nothing in their world that I have felt personally, not that I care, but I’m happy I live a healthy life.

Cancer stories for me equate to weep fest and I’m not much of a fan, but as I listen to how Hazel Grace combat her cancer battle, be consumed at a book written by a deranged alcoholic and fell in love with a young man who got out but went back to cancer struggle, I marvelled, sighed, giggled and cried at Hazel Grace and Augustus love tale. Their frail cancer survivor bodies suspended me in a moment of unquestioning life uncertainties and has convinced me to love with all my might as if my days are numbered.

99930.original

The witty and nifty narrative got my curiousity satisfied, and before I knew it, I was charmed by the brave couple who has made the best out of their unhealthy bodies. It was emotionally gratifying mostly because of how the characters resonated all throughout the story. It will make you feel their pain, woes and happiness like your own. It was as if when you held the book it became attached to your dna. It was affecting in a very reflective way that when the build up of pain reached its culmination, I was cursing on how John Green made me chuckled so much only to make me weep because he didn’t give me a happy ending. I know that it was inevitable. I know that death would emerge at one point in the book, but I was really rooting for Gus and Hazel’s Shakespeare-defying-young-love-in-sickness-and-in-health-if-death-will-make-us-part-romance. 

I’ve tossed some books due to time and sleep constraints, but “The Fault in our Stars” has haunted me beautifully that it managed to snap me back on my old reading addiction. I liked that this book go through a sad note but always seeing the brighter side of the “sickness” conflict. I like that the brilliant couple saddled with their illness moved through their challenges in all honesty and bravery. I liked that the love they had even if it was fictional, started and ended with the kind of love they both felt at the same time.

fault-in-our-stars

FAVORITE QUOTES

“That’s the thing about pain, it demands to be felt.”

“Don’t spend your wish hastily without little care for consequences.”

“I fell in love with you the way you fall asleep… slowly, and then all at once.”

“The weird thing about houses is that they always look like nothing is happening inside of them, eventhough they contain most of our lives.”

“The world is not a wish-granting factory.”

fault-in-our-stars

FAVORITE SCENE

“After my PET scan lit up, I snuck into the ICU and saw her while she was unconscious. I just walked in behind a nurse with a badge and I got me to sit next to her for like ten minutes before I got caught. I really thought she was going to die before I could tell her that I was going to die too. It was brutal: the incessant haranguing of intensive care. She had this dark cancer water dripping out of her chest. Eyes closed. Intubated. But her hand was still her hand, still warm and the nails painted this almost black dark blue and I just held her hand and tried to imagine the world without us and for about one second I was a good enough person to hope she died so she would never know that I was going too. “

 tumblr_mebyufywBG1rpu5kpo1_r2_500

P.S  Images searched and copied through Google Image

2 Comments

  1. Awww I love that book! I love all his books❤ My favourites are Paper Towns and An Abundance of Katherines

    • I will be reading d rest of his books anni… i’m just finishing mistborn..


Leave a Reply

