Skip navigation


moon_lovers-p1
Sprawling to a grand setting and power house cast, I did expect a lot on “Moonlovers:  Scarlet Heart Ryeo”.  I sure have issues on the languid built up of the story in the beginning episodes, but I came to realize the staid plot yarning was necessary to cushion the heaviness of the tormenting conflict faced by the lead couple heading to the culmination of their romance and eventual break-up.
sh_ep7_12a
To balance the screentime of the supporting characters while threading their linked stories requires a lot of effort from the actors in committing an earnest portrayal every moment they are captured by the frame.  And I am glad to say that the Goryeo princes put their heart in sufficing the roles given to them.  Albeit the tormenting emotional strain I got with Scarlet Heart Ryeo, it will belong on my favorites for this year because I love that it became even more believable and fervent due to the plot’s instability and the main characters indecisiveness.  It was a situation that might have killed the drama, but because the essential character motivations were clearly drawn, as a viewer I enjoyed that feeble  and vulnerable facet of the production.
images-12
Scarlet touched not just the long-suffering unrequited love of a damaged prince to a woman who shared his pain without prejudice.  It also sadly and yet beautifully expressed the betrayals of a dysfunctional Royal family who raised devious ways in order to claim the throne for them to use it in protecting the ones they love.
 moonlovers13-00040
When Scarlet turned all business hitting the halfway mark of the series, I found myself wanting to offer myself as a sacrificial lamb to make things better for 4th Prince So who endured his agonizing relationship with his mother and loving Hae Su one-sidedly.  When 8th Prince severed his relationship with Hae Su, I wanted to take him out from the TV screen and castigate on how coward he was, opting not to use his heart and taking the easy way out. But I think that it was a turning point of the heroine’s realization that he was let go by the only man she trusted.  And that was also why Prince So and Hae Su’s romance turned so meaningful because they were at each other’s side when they have nothing beside them. Though Hae Su took time to reciprocate Prince So’s love declaration it was all the more fulfilling because his faithfulness paid of.
ctmsiweuiaaa4ez
So what ending can you give when Scarlet Heart Ryeo started on a drowning woman who got transported back to a different era?  I was not expecting a happy ending given that most of the characters were killed.   It was still Hae Su and 4th Prince So’s love journey for me.  The sweets, the tears and the angst… all of it.  I took So’s last word as an open-ended closure on his acceptance of losing his one great love and longing to find her in the future.  I witnessed how they defied the shrewd political struggle in the royal family to get to a point where they can freely love each other and share memories together.  So I’m good that I know they love each other and they know it very well too.
images-35
Just as life is short, love is also fleeting.   The all important love lesson #ScarletHeartRyeo taught us is how loving someone does not stop when we gave up on the person because the love does not belong anymore in the future.  It is a sweet reminder on keeping as much happy memories as you can to keep you going in moments when you yearn to be with them in the future, but they can’t stay by your side anymore.
sh_ep6_14a
  I was bracing myself to the finale episode.   If truth be told, I was not expecting something cohering anymore because I was so scared the writer will kill all the characters at the last minute.  *chuckles  Did the closing chapter satisfy me?  Though I did not get the happy ending, I was okay with it.  I know that it was bound to be a sad ending so I was prepared for what will happen.  I was okay that they did not push to a scene where Hae Su of the present meets So while he passes by the cosmetic store where Su was working to ask for a BB cream .  *lol  So I was relieved.  Though Scarlet has a lot of flaws, I was fond of it because the love story was pragmatic in tapping on melancholic memories where viewers can relate to especially if they have once loved crazily like the kind of love they paraded in the drama.  The middle part of this romantic ride is the best part of it so make sure to catch up if you have been lagging behind.  ^_^
hjdhzw5
I will miss the Goryeo princes and the dashing look of the Royal Family with their full make up and elaborated wardrobe and jewelries.  hahaha I will miss the bromance, heck I will even miss Hae Su who I wanted to burn in the waning episodes of the series.  She is a picture of every woman who fell in love, lost it, find it again and kept it safe in her heart. Lastly, I will miss 4th Prince So, who I wanted badly to cradle in my arms. lol Even with the unfazed heartrending tone all throughout, I take Scarlet Heart Ryeo with all my heart because I believe that a happy ending does not measure how great a love can be.
img_20161103_062613
 

Leave a Reply

