Flashback KDrama Musings: Yes, it was Almost Paradise


 

Almost Paradise… Yay! This is Lee Min Ho’s breakthrough performance that swept hallyuland like a storm during its run. Finally adapting the famous Japanese manga, the Korean version gave a pretty depiction of the rich-boy-poor-girl love story by projecting an elaborated presentation of the wealth disparity of the main love couple. Sprinkling it with the flower boy bromance and their side love stories cemented a victorious run for this youth drama.

“Boys over Flowers” is a great initiating drama to welcome you in kdramaland. It is feel-good, buoyant and everything sweet perfect on movie marathon sessions and rainy days.  When it was aired in Korea, it was like the anticipation of Harry Potter book 7 for me, I’m so excited of Wednesdays because I get to watch it. Teen romance bliss and angst at fairly done sequences.

This manga based drama swept my heart when it was adapted by Taiwan TV back when I was in my college days.  It was so popular and introduced me to my first fictional love Dau Ming Si.  To say that I have expectations of it when Korea took it for their own production was an understatement, nevertheless I say they presented it well and good, that I went back to being in my teens, and even watching it in raw videos every week while it was airing.

What made it different from the rest of the remakes done was it stayed on the original context of young and sweet high school love as opposed to Taiwan’s college setting.  The Japan version I don’t really like that much I only liked the second lead.  On that note, “Boys Over Flowers” presented a strong battle between the main and second lead in claiming the lead girl’s heart.

It may not be perfect because of the moments when the drama has to ride its popularity so additional fragments were added but it was definitely one beautiful romance that will remind us of our first love, school crush and being young and full of dreams.

Blooming actors on their break out roles. Lots of heart fluttering moments.  Perfect for Kdrama newbies.  Optimum hook factor.  A perfect inclusion for a kdrama starter pack.  These are some reasons why you can invest time on these boys to feel young love again.

 

Leave a Reply

